In this video we’re going to talk about Messaging Clients. You can send secure, HIPAA-compliant messages to clients electronically to their patient portal. To find the messaging area on the dashboard, click “View Client List.” Click on the client’s name to expand the blue folders. Click “Contact Notes/Messages.” Here you will find all messages sent to or from the portal users for the client and all clinicians who have access to the client. You will also find contact notes here as well. The contact notes and messages are intermixed and ordered by date. Contact notes are a place for therapists to notate voicemails, phone conversations, or other pertinent information that all therapists working with the client should be aware of.
To send a message to the client, click “+ Message Client.” Type your message and click “Send Message.” Click “Yes” to confirm. After sending, the message is deletable for 10 minutes only.
When a client sends a message to the clinic, all therapists who have access to the client will receive a new item in their Portal List. Click the number that is listed under “New Messages” in the portal list to be sent directly to the Contact Notes/Messages page. The new message will appear bold until viewed. To respond, click the “+ Message Client” button.
When a patient receives a message, they will be notified via email. The email is general and does not include PHI. It asks the client to log into the portal to review their message. Once they log into the portal, there will be a red notification showing them where they can find their message.
Information for Clinical Administrators:
Users who have access to the Admin Panel can send mass messages to all patient portals. To do so, click “View Admin Panel” and click on the Portal tab. Type the message you’d like to be sent to ALL patients. Click “Send Message.” Click “Yes” to confirm. A list of all mass messages will appear below. This message is deletable for 10 minutes only.
To give a user access to messaging, click on the “Users” tab in the Admin Panel. Click “Edit” for a user and check the “Portal Messaging” box. Click “Update User.” This permission allows the user to message any clients they have access to assuming they also have the “View Portal” permission.
Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.